Kanye Debuts New Song; Lil Wayne Wins At VMA’s

Cash Money Records rap star Lil Wayne and R&B crooner Chris Brown emerged as winners Sunday (September 7) during the 2008 MTV Video Music Awards.


Lil Wayne, who took home the award for Hip-Hop video of the year for his Static Major-assisted hit “Lollipop,” was very brief in his acceptance speech with only three acknowledgements.


“Thank God. Thank my family and thank y’all,” said the rapper, whose performance was introduced by Olympic gold medalist Michael Phelps.


With Leona Lewis providing vocals on the hook for “DontGetIt,” Lil Wayne finished his energetic set with “A Millie” and “Got Money” with T-Pain.


The rapper reappeared onstage with Kid Rock to provide a rap during Rock’s performance of his hit “All Summer Long.”


Lil Wayne wasn’t the only artist doing double duty on the VMA stage. R&B/pop diva Rihanna took the stage with T.I. to perform “Live Your Life.”


The Atlanta rapper started his set with his latest song “Whatever You Like” and prior to the T.I. duet, Rihanna provided the show’s first performance dressed in goth attire, with her dancers for “Disturbia.”


Despite capturing the VMA for Best Male Video for “With You,” Brown felt undeserving of the honor.


“Personally, I didn’t think I deserved this award,” said the singer who thanked his fans, record label and mother. “I thought Weezy was going to get it.”


While Brown and Lil Wayne collected their own VMAs, the night’s big winner was Britney Spears who rebounded from her less than stellar 2007 VMA opening performance, by earning three awards for Female Video, Pop Video and Video of the Year for “Piece of Me.”


Other VMA performers included LL Cool J, Pink, Lupe Fiasco, Paramore, Christina Aguilera, Katy Perry and Kanye West, who closed the more than two-hour show with “Love Lockdown,” a new song that is expected to appear on his upcoming fourth album.


West’s performance came in direct contrast to his boycott of the VMAs following his criticism of last year’s show.


In addition to Lil Wayne, Brown and Spears VMAs were awarded to the Pussycat Dolls (Dancing in a Video) and Linkin Park (Rock Video).


The following is list of winner for the 25th annual MTV Video Music Awards:

Video of the Year: Britney Spears, “Piece of Me” Female Video: Britney Spears “Piece of Me”

Male Video: Chris Brown, “With You” Rock Video: Linkin Park, “Shadow of the Day” Hip-Hop Video: Lil Wayne, “Lollipop” Pop Video: Britney Spears, “Piece of Me” Dancing in a Video: The Pussycat Dolls, “When I Grow Up” New Artist: Tokio Hotel

Related Stories