Young Jeezy – Thug Motivation 103

Album Review: Young Jeezy – Thug Motivation 103: Hustlerz Ambition

Debuting at 3 on the Billboard Top 200 charts, this album marks the final installation of Young Jeezy’s Thug Motivation series. The previous two albums in the series were Let’s Get It: Thug Motivation 101 and The Inspiration, released in 2005 and 2006 consecutively. Thug Motivation 103: Hustlerz Ambition is the follow up to Young Jeezy’s highly successful 2008 album, The Recession.

Jeezy seems to be rejuvenated on this new release, demonstrating how his own ambition earned him his bragging rights. On the track Nothing, he addresses the haters and fake friends he’s come across on his rise to the top. He rhymes, “And when you really from the streets that’s when they hate you most/ And when you really got it then that’s when they hate you close”, in his signature raspy tone.

Young Jeezy teams up with R&B singer/songwriter Ne-Yo on the Warren G produced track, Leave You Alone. It’s an interesting musical collaboration that works. The elements of piano and bass result in a radio friendly track with an element of panache. Leave You Alone is Young Jeezy’s attempt to show us that thugs have feelings and need love too.

Jay-Z and Andre 3000 are featured on another well put together collaboration track, the hit single I Do. Ambiguity is the theme throughout each rapper’s verse. They are either marrying or committing to a woman, money or the game. It’s somewhat of a reminder of UGK’s 2007 single, International Player’s Anthem, featuring Outkast.

Thug Motivation 103: Hustlerz Ambition is raw, gritty and honest and does not fall short of what fans expect from Young Jeezy. Despite the many guest features on the album, Jeezy still shines and continues to hold it down on the solo tracks. Already being labeled a classic, Thug Motivation 103: Hustlerz Ambition is well worth a listen.

Standout Tracks: “Nothing”, “Leave You Alone”, “I Do”


  1. Waiting

  2. What I Do (Just Like That)

  3. OJ (ft. Fabolous & Jadakiss)

  4. Nothing

  5. Way Too Gone (ft. Future)

  6. Supafreak (ft. 2 Chainz)

  7. All We Do

  8. Leave You Alone (ft. Ne-Yo)

  9. Everythang

  10. Trapped (ft. Jill Scott)

  11. F.A.M.E. (ft. T.I.)

  12. I Do (ft. Jay-Z & Andre 3000)

  13. Higher Learning (ft. Snoop Dogg, Devin The Dude & Mitchellel)

  14. This Ones For You (ft. Trick Daddy)

  15. .38 (ft. Freddie Gibbs)

  16. Ballin (ft. Lil Wayne)

  17. Lose My Mind (ft. Plies)

  18. Never Be The Same


Jay (@JayChillinBro)
Jay (@JayChillinBro)