50 Cent Takes Top Honors At ASCAP Awards

G-Unit rapper 50

Cent was named Songwriter of the Year yesterday (May 22) at the 23rd annual

ASCAP Pop Music Awards.

The rapper received

the honor for his contributions to "Candy Shop," "Disco Inferno,"

"Hate It Or Love It," "How We Do," and "Just A Lil


Although 50 Cent

wasn't at the ceremony, he voiced his appreciation in a video message, stating,

"I want to tell you that I use you for energy. I listen to the material

that you create…it helps me move to the next level…it inspires me

to write even more exciting material."

The occasion marks

the second time the wordsmith received the ASCAP Pop Songwriter of the Year


Hosted by ASCAP

President & Chairman Marilyn Bergman, the ASCAP Pop Music Awards spotlight

the songwriters responsible for some of today's most popular music.

Other honorees

included Jermaine Dupri and Sean Garrett, who picked up four awards each; Scott

Storch (3); and Dr. Dre, Ludacris, Missy Elliott, Nelly, and The Game (2).

Dupri, Johnta

Austin and Seal received the Song of the Year award for co-writing Mariah Carey's

hit single "We Belong Together." The song tied with Green Day's "Boulevard

of Broken Dreams for the award.

EMI Music Publishing

took home the award for Publisher of the Year for the fourth consecutive year.

The company was

honored for a host of songs, including the Black Eyed Peas' "Don't Phunk

With My Heart," Alicia Keys' "Karma," and Destiny's Child's "Lose

My Breath."

More than 700 songwriters,

recording artists and music industry leaders attended the event, which was held

at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.