ASCAP Honors Jermaine Dupri

Producer/rapper, Jermaine

Dupri will be honored with The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers

(ASCAP) Golden Note Award during the society's 22nd Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards,

the group announced.

Dupri will receive the prestigious award during an invitation-only

dinner on May 16 in Los Angeles. The newly appointed president of Virgin Records'

Urban Music division will join the ranks of songwriters and composers, Sean

"P.Diddy" Combs, Jay-Z, and Stevie Wonder.

"Jermaine will join a very elite group of our Golden Note-winning

songwriters and we are proud to add his name to this list," said ASCAP

President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman in a statement.

In addition to producing for other artists, Dupri hit platinum

status as a rapper with numerous hits, including "The Party Continues,"

"Money Ain't A Thang," featuring Jay-Z, and the hit collaboration,

"Welcome To Atlanta."

The Atlanta native also grabbed four Grammy nods this year for

his work on Usher's multi-platinum album, Confessions, with songwriting

and production credit for "Confessions (Part II)," "Burn"

and "My Boo."

In 1992, Dupri played a major role launching the career of teen

rap sensations Kriss Kross after signing the talented duo to his So So Def Record


Throughout his lengthy career, Dupri has garnered songwriting

and production credit for such artists as Aaliyah, Bow Wow, Chingy, Da Brat,

Janet Jackson, Jay-Z, Lil' Kim, Ludacris, Nas, Notorious B.I.G., and Run DMC

among many others.

The ASCAP award

dinner will also recognize songwriters and publishers of the society's most

performed songs of 2004 and will present special awards for "Songwriter

of the Year," "Song of the Year," and "Publisher of the