Florida's DJ Smallz Talks 'Gunshine State'; Unites 30 Upcoming Artists

Tampa, Florida DJ and radio host DJ Smallz has launched his production career by assembling an all-star cast of upcoming artists from the state of Florida on a track titled "Welcome to the Gunshine State."

Rappers like Acafool, Brisco, C-Ride, Dirtbag, Flo-Rida, Jacki-O, Joe Hound, Haitian Fresh, Grandy Souf, Plies, Smilez & Southstar, Tampa Tony, Wes Fif, Young Cash, Dunk Ryders and among the 30 emerging artists from various parts of Florida that are featured on the track.

DJ Smallz, who hosts Southern Smoke Radio every Thursday on Sirius Satellite Radio's "Hip-Hop Nation" Channel 40, said the feat of putting the artists on one track was unprecedented for the state of Florida.

"No one in Florida has found a way to unite artists representing all hoods, counties & cities in Florida until now," DJ Smallz told AllHipHop.com. "I felt like this was a great time for me to release this record, with the attention that TJ's DJ's Conference, Ozone Awards, Khaled & Plies are bringing to the state. Now with all these people paying attention to what's going on down here, it's my responsibility to the streets to make sure everyone is represented, and this record definitely shows how the whole state can be united."

DJ Smallz is known for his Southern Smoke series of mixtapes, which have featured rappers like Big Boi, UGK, Pitbull, Master, P., Three 6 Mafia, Lil' Jon, Ludacris and others.

"I wanted to show the world how our music is bigger than one city, hood or county," DJ Smallz said of the track. "I wanted to extend the Florida movement and show how big the whole state, united, could be."

To listen to "Welcome to the Gunshine State," click here.