New Album from Joe Budden Due in February

AllHipHop Staff

Joe Budden fans will soon see the release of their favorite rapper’s official sophomore album after years of set backs.

The project, titled Padded Room, is the follow up to Budden’s self-titled debut offering.

Powered by the hit single “Pump It Up,” the 2003 album went on to achieve gold status as well as a Grammy award nomination for the rapper for best male rap solo performance.

Since his official entry into the rap arena, Budden has attracted new fans and kept busy while struggling to get out of his recording contract with this former label, Def Jam Records.

The influential music label ran into conflict with the rap star when it decided to shelve Padded Room for nearly four years.

Despite the obstacle, Budden remained on the radar of rap fans as he utilized the Internet to release his Joe Budden TV videos and popular Mood Muzik mixtape series.

Among those appearing in the series were rappers Fabolous, Clinton Sparks and Joell Ortiz.

After his release from Def Jam in 2007, Budden reemerged on the music scene with Halfway House, a “digital-only” album released by his current recording home Amalgam Digital.

The 14-track project sold about 3,000 downloads in its first week of release this year as it marked the first time the entertainer charted on the Billboard200 in five years.

One of the stand-out songs from Halfway House was collaboration with Ortiz, Royce the 5’9 and Crooked I called “Slaughterhouse.”

The track was recently named by Vibe Magazine as one of the 80 Best Songs of 2008.

Following the example set by Halfway House, Budden will release Padded Room in digital format via

To coincide with the album’s upcoming release, Amalgam will re-launch the website store with a new design and features as well as enhanced functionality.

In addition, Budden and Amalgam will offer exclusive hidden bonus tracks for fans that purchase the album from

The 13-track Padded Room will also feature Budden’s collaboration with former rival The Game, titled “The Future.”

The pair is expected to begin filming a video for the single in the coming weeks.

Joe Budden’s Padded Room is slated to be released on Feb. 24, 2009.

The following is a tracklisting for the album:

1. Now I Lay (produced by Blastah Beatz) 2. The Future f/ The Game (produced by Fyu-chur) 3. If I Gotta Go (produced by the Klasixs) 4. Don't Make Me (produced by Blastah Beatz) 5. Blood On The Wall (produced by Moss) 6. In My Sleep (produced by Blastah Beatz) 7. Exxxes (produced by the Klasixs) 8. I Couldn't Help It (produced by the Klasixs) 9. Adrenaline (produced by Dub B) 10. Happy Holidays (produced by Quan) 11. Do Tell (produced by Blastah Beatz) 12. Angel In My Life (produced by Blastah Beatz) 13. Pray For Me (produced by Versatile & Dilemma)