Russell Simmons, Musicians Announce New Anti-War Coalition

Russell Simmons and a host of other artists gathered

today to announce the creation of Musicians United to Win Without War.

The new coalition of artists seeks to help mobilize

the hundreds of millions of American's who may oppose the looming war with Iraq.

"Iraq's been contained for 12 years,"

said Russell Simmons, co-founder of Def Jam Recordings and CEO of Rush Communications.

"Hundreds of thousands don't have to die. Stand up, demonstrate, and have

your voice heard," said Simmons, who is also cofounder of the coalition.

Members of the coalition include Jay-Z, Nas,

Fat Joe, Capone-N-Noreaga, Outkast, Mobb Deep and other musicians.

The group seeks to pressure the government into

using tough weapons inspections and work with Allies through the United Nations

to "disarm" Saddam Hussein.

"In the rush to war, the voices of reason

and debate have been trampled and ignored. Musicians United to Win Without War

represents a diverse group that feels that war is not an inevitable, forgone

conclusion" added David Byrne, former lead singer and guitarist with Talking

Heads and a cofounder of the latest addition to the national grassroots anti-war


The launch follows on the heels of record-setting

protests across the globe and a "virtual march" on Washington that

jammed phone and fax lines and flooded email boxes in every Senate office throughout

the day on Wednesday. A full-page ad, signed by dozens of hip-hop and rock performers,

also ran that day in the New York Times.

Members of Musicians United to Win Without War


· Laurie Anderson

· Autechre

· Eric Benet

· T. Bone Burnett

· Kandi Burriss

· Busta Rhymes

· David Byrne

· Blu Cantrell

· Capone & Noreaga

· Rosanne Cash

· Dave Chavarri

· George Clinton

· Sheryl Crow

· Ani DiFranco

· Steve Earle

· Missy Elliott

· Brian Eno

· Fat Joe

· Floetry

· Free & AJ

· Fugazi

· Jagged Edge

· Peter Gabriel

· Emmylou Harris

· Joe Henry

· Natalie Imbruglia

· Jay-Z

· Daniel Johns

· Donnell Jones

· K-Ci & Jo Jo

· Angeliique Kidjo

· Kronos Quartet

· L'il Mo

· John Leventhal

· Christian Machado

· Massive Attack

· Dave Matthews

· Natalie Merchant

· Mobb Deep

· Nas

· Ann Nesby

· Outkast

· Pharoahe Monch

· Musiq

· Lou Reed


· Raphael Saadiq

· Ryuichi Sakamoto

· Russell Simmons

· Bubba Sparxx

· Seven

· Sonic Youth

· David Sylvian

· Tweet

· Suzanne Vega

· Caetano Veloso

· Wilco

· Lucinda Williams

· Bryce Wilson

· The Youngbloods

· Zap Mama