Saigon Crafts New Album In 24 Hours

AllHipHop Staff

Rapper Saigon has recorded a full-length album within 24 hours, a remarkably fast time even by Hip-Hop standards.

Amalgam Digital will distribute the digital-only opus, titled All In A Day’s Work.

“This album…is a bonafide Hip Hop classic created from beginning to end in 24 hours. It is a definitely a spark in the right direction for the resurgence of East Coast Hip Hop,” Saigon said in a statement. “We came together to present the world with the best album of the year 2009, aside from my debut of course, The Greatest Story Never Told which will soon follow.”

The album represents Saigon’s first release with Amalgam Digital and will feature the exclusive beats by Statik Selektah, a well-known producer in New York.

“Working with Saigon in those 24 hours and getting songs done so fast showed why he should be held as one of the greatest to ever do it,” Selektah said via statement.

The rapper didn’t reveal the day he recorded the album. Similarly, Amalgam didn't release how they would verify the time lapse on the recording of the digital LP.Still Saigon remains signed to Just Blaze, the producer that crafted The Greatest Story Never Told with Saigon. “Saigon is not signed to Amalgam Digital, folks,” Just Blaze said via his twitter blog on March 7.

The March 17 release date for the album has offered an extraordinarily short window for promotion, a new technique for the fledgling label.

Amalgam Digital statement read, “The ground breaking project will compliment the forward thinking artist and pioneering new media outfit’s list of milestones as it is essentially the first time in Hip-Hop history a commercially viable product, bridges the gap between mixtape and studio album.”

Ironically, Saigon’s archrival Joe Budden has also released several projects on Amalgam, including a digital only album called The Halfway House.

In a recent interview, Joe Budden said he send Saigon a text message saying, “Congratulations” and, according to Budden, Saigon replied, “You starting your s**t again.” Budden said he was sincere and has announced that he is departing Amalgam.Saigon “All In A Day’s Work” Tracklisting:

01. To Be Told…

02. So Cruel

03. The Rules

04. My Crew

05. Prepare For


06. Spit

07. Lady Sings The


08. Lose Her

09. Goodbye

10. The Reason

11. BONUS: I Warned