Shakir Stewart Hip-Hop Channel Looks for Video Submissions

AllHipHop Staff

One of the dreams of late entertainment icon Shakir Stewart will become a reality next month courtesy on his very own Hip Hop Music Channel (HHMC).

The network was originally conceived by Stewart, his childhood friend Shawn Granberry, and movie producer Robert Watts as an outlet to showcase the diversity and power of Hip-Hop culture.

The network, which launches on April 12, bills itself as the only interactive music channel where viewers help determine the content.

Viewers will have the ability to chose up to 5 music videos per day from a list of 40,000. The selected clips will then play in the order that they’re received.

In addition, consumers will be able to buy available items seen in the videos.

Currently, the network has its sights aimed at conquering the mostly untapped Asian market.

“The Hip Hop Music Channel is focused on becoming the number one distributor and marketer of Hip-Hop culture in the world, “ stated Shawn Granberry, CEO of HHMC. “Our focus on the emerging Asian market will introduce new and old Hip-Hop artist to emerging markets around the world. There are hundreds of millions of Hip-Hop fans worldwide and we are positioned to deliver top tier Hip-Hop culture to those fans. I am honored to complete the dream’s Shakir and I had as children in East Oakland.”

Artist interested in having their work showcased on the network can visit for submission details.

A hard copy DVD is requested for all inquiries. Shakir Stewart rose from a local Oakland concert promoter to one of the industry’s most well known and successful A&R’s.

Before accepting the Senior Executive Vice President position at Def Jam, he was responsible for signing current stars Ciara, Rick Ross, and Young Jeezy.

Last November, Shakir passed away of an apparent suicide in his Atlanta home.

He was 34 years old. The Hip Hop Music Channel will be available April 12 on the web ( and through traditional network broadcasting in Japan, the Philippines, China, Korea, Taiwan, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia, India, Cambodia, Laos, Australia, and Nigeria.