The Roots, John Legend Tell Fans To 'Wake Up!' On New Album

(AllHipHop News) The Roots and John Legend have teamed up to create the new album Wake Up! featuring remakes of uplifting soul music from the 1960’s and 70’s Both The Roots and John Legend were inspired by the 2008 elections and decided to collaborate on a single. That quickly evolved into Wake Up!, which features remakes of songs like Baby Huey and the Babysitters’ “Hard Times,” “Little Ghetto Boy” by Donny Hathaway and “Wholly Holy” by Marvin Gaye. "When these songs were written, people were more spiritually in tune," said Roots drummer/musical director Ahmir "?uestlove" Thompson. "It was fresh from the civil rights era and there was a feeling of hope that maybe, yes, someday we will all be free. In 2010, not so much."Wake Up! contains just original single, the track “Shine,” which was written by John Legend for the upcoming documentary Waiting for Superman. Wake Up! will feature guest appearances from various artists, including Common and Melanie Fiona, who are featured on the inspirational album’s first single, “Wake Up Everybody,” a remake of Harold Melvin & The Bluenotes’ hit record. "These songs sound so relevant now," Legend says. "On most of them, you wouldn't change a lyric. 'Wake Up Everybody' has four verses — the first one is a general statement, the second is about education, third is about health care, and the fourth is about making a better environment. No editing needed."Wake Up! Is due in stores via Sony Music on September 21, 2010.