Tommy Boy Founder Tom Silverman Digs For 'Hip-Hop Roots'

Tom Silverman, founder and CEO of the seminal Tommy Boy Records label, has announced he will release Hip-Hop Roots," a compilation album including some of the most sampled records in Hip-Hop history.

The album will include such oft-sampled songs as Bob James' "Take me to the Mardi Gras," sampled by RUN DMC for "Peter Piper" and LL Cool J for "Rock the Bells," Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band's "Express Yourself," which NWA used for "Express Yourself," and David Bowie's "Fame," sampled for Public Enemy's "Night of the Living Baseheads," among others.

Legendary DJ and producer, Jazzy Jay, who helped add flavor to the project by editing some of the tracks, joined Silverman on the project.

The album covers almost every genre of music and shows the diversity and versatility of Hip-Hop, something Silverman was aiming for with this release.

"I believe that the strength of Hip-Hop over 26 years, unlike any other kind of music, has been its inclusive nature," Silverman said. "Rather than be elitist or separatist, Hip-Hop is accepting and absorbing of outside influences. African, Latin, Disco, Funk, or the corniest Pop or soundtracks were accepted and made the genre stronger just as America is made strong by its confluence of cultures and rainbow peoples," says Silverman.

Complete Track Listing for Hip Hop Roots:

1) It's Just Begun - The Jimmy Castor Bunch (RCA, 1972)

2) The Big Beat - Billy Squier (Capitol, 1980)

3) Think (About It) - Lyn Collins feat. The JB's (People, 1970)

4) Take Me to the Mardi Gras - Bob James (CTI, 1975)

5) Fame - David Bowie (RCA, 1975)

6) Happy Music - The Blackbyrds (Fantasy, 1975)

7) Express Yourself - Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band (Warner, 1969)

8) Bra - Cymande (Janus, 1972)

9) Mary Mary - The Monkees (Colgems, 1967)

10) Let a Woman Be a Woman, and Let a Man Be a Man - Dyke and the Blazers (Original Sound, 1969)

11) Give it Up or Turn it Loose - James Brown (King, 1970)

12) UFO - ESG (99 Records, 1981)