Tommy Boy To Release Series Of Reissues And Compilations


in 1981 by current chairman Tom Silverman, Tommy Boy Music

celebrates its twentieth anniversary in 2001. In celebration

of this milestone, Tommy Boy will release a series of reissues

and compilations.

Tommy Boy has

made an undeniable impact on the history of popular music

by being one of the first labels to recognize the power of

rap and dance music. New York in the seventies and eighties

was a melting pot of rhythms that included dance music, hip

hop, pop, salsa, soul, and reggae. Tommy Boy was one of the

first labels to release dance and hip hop music that managed

to be both revolutionary and incredibly successful. From Afrika

Bambaataa to De La Soul the reissue series encompasses some

of the artistic highlights of the burgeoning rap and dance


Maintaining the

authenticity of these releases was crucial to the concept

of the series. The releases have been re-mastered and remixed

and some feature previously unreleased tracks as well as the

original cover art. Explains Steve Knutson, series developer

and coordinator, “Our 20th anniversary is an opportune

time to repackage and revamp our vast catalogue of influential

music. Since the majority of these releases were previously

only available on vinyl, the idea was to make this classic

material available for today's CD buyers."

The series will

launch on January 16, 2001 with Jonzun Crew’s Lost in

Space and Planet Patrol Planet Patrol. Forthcoming titles

include music from Force M.D’s, Stetsasonic, Information

Society, Queen Latifah, Digital Underground and Coolio. Some

of the releases are reissues while others are revamped from

the original format. There are also plans for compilations

of greatest hits and rare and eclectic 12” material.