AHH REVIEW: J. Cole’s Born Sinner

J. Cole - Born Sinner (Deluxe Edition) Download Album itunes

J. Cole is rapidly emerging as one of the enduring talents that hip-hop has to offer. His latest: Born Sinner. On his sophomore release, we find Cole World in his ever expanding lane. Straight up, Born Sinner is a hip-hop album that has the potential to enter the popular side of life. Clearly, the North Carolina native isn’t gunning for every Becky and Brad to fall in love with his music, but if they want to come, its all the better. Once again, this is a hip-hop album.

Songs like “Power Trip (with Miguel),” “She Knows,” and “Forbidden Fruit (with Kendrick Lamar)” delve into the complexities of a young man’s relationships. Cole sounds like a natural with his song writing, something that often escaped the rappers he came up on. They were prone to braggadocios raps. Still, Cole – like Kendrick – has an inter-generational quality that often escapes most rappers out now.

Born Sinner is very, very good and could emerge as a classic album, as time rolls on. J. Cole oversaw the production on the album and he takes care of himself. He manages to diversify beats and present songs as intricate tales. Songs like “Miss America” and “N***az Know” break the mold with a more abrasive texture than the rest of Born Sinner. Even 50 Cent pops up on the deluxe version of the album.

“Let Nas Down,” is one moment on Born Sinner that this writer didn’t particularly like (but admits most people do). Cole acts as if Nas is his pops or something! But, the song is dope, albeit a bit too respectful for a future legend purporting to have a sinner side. So, the song is cool, yet a bit disappointing. Such is the duality of Born Sinner. Cole’s idolatry is evident throughout.

The only drawback seems that Cole at times comes off as if he’s trying to be a bad boy, unlike Chief Keef who really seems to be the genuine article. So, he feels like good guy that got caught up here and there and wrote songs about it. But, this is a granular observation. Born Sinner is a road map for a generation. Cole offers the meaty content people scream they want on the radio and in their iPods. He also offers a measure of maturity that does resemble his heroes like Nas, even though some of it feels like he’s a student trying to be the master yet. At 21 tracks (including interludes), Born Sinner should offer enough music to last fans for quite some time. No sins here – just another era in hip-hop being born again.

AHH’s Ratings:

Lyricism –9/10

Production –8/10

Album Cohesiveness –7/10

Replay value –8/10

Overall –8/10

Personal Favorite Tracks: “Miss America,” “Forbidden Fruit,” “N***az Know”

[twitter-follow screen_name=’AllHipHopcom’] [twitter-follow screen_name=’AllHipHopcom’]

  • KingKiron

    Album of the year by far and put him back above Kendrick in my books.

    • J_Arrogant

      definitely one of the best albums of the year! and Honestly I dont compare Him & K.dot! they both are Pure emcees who really rap about real topics and surroundings…unlike that “turn up” “ratchett” music that constantly gets played out

    • John Q. Public

      Good Kid Madd City shitted on this album…. I cant wait for their collabo album tho

  • J_Arrogant

    Dope review But i Love the “Let Nas down” track!! Its was a story that ACTUALLY happened

  • Pingback: J. Cole Born Sinner – HipHopDX | ALIBABA ENTERTAINMENT()

  • Fishman3234

    Real talk the album was trash. His first album was a hell of a lot better. Anytime your main single is a slow song, that’s trouble son. There were no real beets that I will be bumpin to in my ride this summer.

    Lyricism –8/10

    Production –6/10

    Album Cohesiveness –6/10

    Replay value –6/10

    Overall –6.5/10

    Personal Favorite Tracks: Let Nas down…that’s it, the rest is junk.

  • Pingback: SoundwavezRadeo » AHH REVIEW: J. Cole’s Born Sinner()

  • WhenWillTheyShoot71

    Lauryn Hill and D’angelo sampled song was the only one I liked but it don’t make the album a flop.

  • Pingback: AHH REVIEW: J. Cole’s Born Sinner | Hip Hop WorldWide()

  • John Q. Public

    .Sideline Story, Friday Night Lights, Warm Up were all better projects in my opinion but the album is still pretty good. He just doesn’t go as hard as he went on sideline story and the songs seem less personal. He killed the production tho except for Crooked Smile which sounded like it did not belong on this album. Good album I just expect better from Cole. I would say 3/5 stars

  • Pingback: AHH REVIEW: J. Coles Born Sinner | Hot Topic 24()

  • jacksjus

    This album is a nice. Ill samples and drum loops. Not to mention Cole is above average on the mic. People will really appreciate this one as time goes on.