Dizzee Rascal Reps Ecko, Announces U.S. Tour Dates

England rapper Dizzee Rascal will be one of the

new faces for the popular Ecko Clothing brand in an upcoming advertising campaign.

The East London rapper is set to start the campaign

in this year’s fall/winter collection. According to Ecko’s international manager

Justin Mingo, the company wanted to start recruiting up and coming artists from

Europe.

Mingo said Ecko has always promoted new faces

from the entertainment world, however they now want to take an international

direction.

"England we are coming up," Dizzee

Rascal told AllHipHop.com. "Sometimes though, people emulate what’s coming

from the United States. There aren’t that many people in London doing anything

original. There was a time where people were dressing up with the champagne

and all that bullshit, but niggas like me had hats, hoods, making our own beats

doing our own shit and making our own way."

It was only natural that Ecko singled out Dizzee

for the campaign, as he was recently seen wearing the brand in his video "I

Luv U." His debut album Boy in Da Corner made him the first rapper to win

England’s prestigious Mercury Music Prize,

The campaign was shot earlier this year in New

York. The new collection is set introduce more hoodies and other casual clothing;

a trademark of Ecko which has led them to be one of the leaders in the urban

fashion world.

Dizzee will land in the United States next week

for a string of intimate dates with fellow UK rapper The Streets.

"When I come over here, I don’t want to

be known from just from MTV," Dizzie Rascal told AllHipHop.com. "I

go to where the people are and show the locals that are a part of setting the

foundation, that we are authentic."

Dates are below:

Fri June 11 Mountain View, CA Shoreline Amphitheater

(with Dizzee Rascal) (Live 105 festival)

Sat June 12 Los Angeles The Wiltern (with Dizzee

Rascal)

Tue June 15 Seattle Nuemo’s

Fri June 18 Park City, UT Harry O’s

Sat June 19 Denver Fox Theater

Mon June 21 Minneapolis Fine Line Music Café

Wed June 23 Chicago Metro

Thu June 24 Detroit St. Andrew’s Hall

Fri June 25 Toronto Mod Club

Sat June 26 Montreal Club Soda

Mon June 28 Boston Avalon Ballroom (with Dizzee

Rascal)

Tue June 29 New York City Irving Plaza (with

Dizzee Rascal)

Wed June 30 New York City Irving Plaza (with

Dizzee Rascal)

Thu July 1 Washington DC 9:30 Club (with Dizzee

Rascal)

Sat July 3 Atlanta Earthlink Live

Related Stories