AHH Stray News: Mos Def, Tupac, P-Funk Member Passes, Slum Village

Mos Def is in negotiations

to star opposite Brenden Fraser in the new thriller “Journey to the End

of the Night.” The movie centers on a man and his son, who are both trying

to better their lives through the criminal under world. Alice Braga, who starred

in “City of God” is already attached to the project. “Journey

to the End of the Night” will start production on location in Brazil beginning

in December.

Tupac has the ears of the

United Kingdom, as his song “Ghetto Gospel” has staying power, residing

at the top of the official UK Singles Chart for three weeks in a row. The song

is taken from the album Loyal to the Game. “Ghetto Gospel”

features vocals by Universal label mate Sir Elton John, with whom Em previously

collaborated with for a live version of “Stan.” “Ghetto Gospel”

held back pop diva Mariah Carey’s new single “We Belong Together,”

which landed at #2.

Ray Davis, one of the founders

of Parliament-Funkadelic, passed away last week due to respiratory complications.

Davis was a member of The Parliaments since the group was founded in the 1950’s.

The group hit big with “I Wanna Testify,” in 1967, a record that

featured a more “funk” oriented Parliaments (the record is ironically

backed by legendary Motown session band The Funk Brothers). Parliament-Funkadelic’s

body of work has been sampled countless times over the years and was the subject

of years of legal wrangling, which recently ended in a court victory for Clinton.

Slum Village has parted

ways with Capitol Recordings and the group is preparing their first release

since their major label effort Detroit Deli. Prequel to a Classic

the Mix Tape lands in stores on July 12th and is a collection of unreleased

songs. Kurupt, Dwele, The Dramatics and Frank & Dank round out appearance

on the album, which features production by B.R. Gunna, T-3, Kareem Riggins and

J. Dilla. The track listing to Prequel to a Classic the Mixtape is

listed below:

1. "INTRO"

2. "GET YA PAPER" (feat. Frank & Dank)

3. "CAN I BE ME"


5. "EZ UP" (feat. Dwele)

6. "WE BE DEM" (Part II)


8. "IN THE LAB" Produced

9. "WHO BOY"


11. "MY LIFE" (feat. Frank & Dank)



14. "WHO ARE WE"


16. "UP"

17. LET’S GO

Related Stories