DJ Quik To Release "The Midnight Life" LP Featuring El Debarge, Dom Kennedy & More


(AllHipHop News) West Coast Hip Hop legend DJ Quik is set to drop his ninth studio album The Midnight Life next month. The project is being released via his own Mad Science label in conjunction with INgrooves Music Group.

[ALSO CHECK OUT: DJ Quik ft. David Blake & Bishop Lamont – “Trapped On The Track”]

“This album is my ode to having fun in the midnight hour,” says Quik. “That’s the best time for making music in my opinion. It’s quiet, especially if you’re in a recording studio. You can hear everything and you know everybody’s asleep. You can sneak and do your best work.”

Fans that pre-order the album now on iTunes get the free track “That Getter” featuring Quik’s son David Blake. Early purchasers will then receive “Pet Semetary” on September 30. The Midnight Life also features appearances by El Debarge, Bishop Lamont, Suga Free, Dom Kennedy, Mack 10, and more.

“Musically, this album is a bulls-eye for me,” adds the Compton representative. “Can’t nobody tell me different because I’ve seen it give people chills. I’ve seen it make people happy, smile, drink, party, dance, ask for it on repeat. This album is for people who like to have fun.”

Quik will be performing on the Murs 316 Stage at L.A.’s Sunset Strip Music Festival this Sunday. The Midnight Life is scheduled for release on October 14. Pre-order is available now on iTunes.

[ALSO READ: DJ Skee’s DASH Radio To Live Stream The MURS 316 Stage At Sunset Strip Music Festival 2014]

Check out the cover art and tracklist for DJ Quik’s The Midnight Life below.

DJ Quik

1. Intro
2. That N****r’s Crazy (D. Blake)
3. Back That S### Up feat. Tay F 3rd & David Blake II (D. Blake, D. Kim, D. Blake II)
4. Trapped On The Tracks feat. Bishop Lamont & David Blake II (D. Blake, P. Martin, D. Blake II)
5. El’s Interlude 2 (D. Blake, E. Debarge)
6. Puffin The Dragon (D. Blake)
7. Pet Semetary (D. Blake)
8. Life Jacket feat. Suga Free & Dom Kennedy (D. Blake, D. Walker, D. Hunn)
9. That Getter feat. David Blake (D. Blake, D. Blake II)
10. The Conduct feat. Mack 10 (D. Blake, D. Rolison)
11. Shine feat. David Blake (D. Blake, D. Blake II)
12. Bacon’s Groove feat. Rob “Fonksta” Bacon (D. Blake, R. Bacon, Jr.)
13. Broken Down feat. Suga Free & Tweed Cadillac (D. Blake, D. Walker, C. Brown)
14. Why’d You Have To Lie feat. Joi (D. Blake, J. Gilliam)
15. F**k All Night (D. Blake)