Philaflava Offers More Styles

As the commercial realm of hip-hop grows larger, the underground, creative aspects of rap are sorely overlooked, but one independent movement hopes to change things. PhilaFlava presents…A League of Our Own, an independent CD, has released a mixtape album that offers a distinct, exclusive medley of hip-hop.

“A League of Our Own” showcases an array of talent that we feel is the epitome of what a mixtape is; a versatile mix of beats and lyrics that any hiphop fan can appreciate,” said Jason Gloss, co-executive producer and partner of the project.

Unlike other mixtapes, Abby O’Neill, the other partner, stated that this effort differs from others because it doesn’t attempt to compete with other street DJ’s. A League of Our Own offers songs never heard elsewhere.

“Its all exclusive material with several songs custom made for this tape in particular,” she said. “There’s only a few joints on there will be released. We have a good diversified mix of styles, ranging from gangsta WC to Dirty South’s Devin Da Dude.”

In addition to the latter, the album offers spotlight to emerging undergrounds artists like Cy Young, Supastition, Storm the Unpredictable and legends like Masta Ace, OC, King Tee, Royce Da 5’9”, J Dilla, Pete Rock, Kanye West, DJ Revolution, DJ Khalil, Jake-One and others.

“A League of Our Own offers not only bangin’ tracks but a diverse selection of who’s who in hip-hop,” O’Neill continued.

The mixtape was jumpstarted from Gloss’ radio show, The PhilaFlava Show, which broadcasts weekly on Fridays. Through the show, a bevy of underground artists record exclusive freestyles and discuss the state of the music.

Full tracklisting:

1.) Intro

2.) King Tee feat. Maylay – “Salute’n G’s”

3.) Montage & Mr. Complex – Area Mode

4.) Planet Asia – “Full Course Meal”-produced by Pete Rock

5.) Talib Kweli & Hi-Tek feat. Buckshot & Main Flow – “Heat”- produced by Hi-Tek

6.) Baby Blak feat. Planet Asia & Obie Trice – “No Coast All-Stars”-produced by DJ Revolution

7.) Kombo feat. Lao Fai – “Centerstage”-produced by DJ Khalil

8.) Supastition – “Me Minus You”

9.) Cy Young – “Freestyle”- produced by Kevin Brown (A Touch Of Jazz)

10.) Cy Young f/I.Q. – “The Elements”- produced by Kevin Brown (A Touch Of Jazz)

11.) Boom Bap Project feat. One Man Army – “Dickhead Tracy”- produced by Jake One

12.) The Wastelandz – “King of Luck”

13.) Royce 5’9″ – “Life Goes On”

14.) Masta Ace – “What Is It?”

15.) Murs – “They Still Call Me MURS”

16.) Chops (of Mountain Brothers) -” Freestyle”

17.) Copywrite & Jakki Da Mota Mouth – “That Ain’t Me”

18.) Storm The Unpredictable – “Blacker The Berry” (Remix)

19.) Royce 5’9″ – “Heartbeat”

20.) OC feat. TL & Tone – “We Got This ”

21.) Krondon & Saafir – “Let’s Smoke”

22.) Krumb Snatcha – “Runnin’ Wild”

23.) W.C. – “The Autobiography”

24.) CB feat. Devin The Dude – “Beautiful Crazy”

For more information, visit

Related Stories