The Game

Album Review: Game’s “Jesus Piece”

Game’s never been the type to shy away from any type of controversy, but there always seems to be a motive behind his actions, whether it’s taking shots at someone via punchlines or completely railing against them in general. Surprisingly to some, the controversy (because there has to be some kind, right?) for this album comes in artwork form. The cover, which depicts a Black Jesus on church-stained glass windows rocking a red bandana, tattoo teardrops, and a “Jesus piece,” did enough to make people pay attention yet again… and for good reason. Even by loose terms, the cover struck as sacrilegious, to the point where it became a real worry that some would shun his latest release due to it. You can’t judge people for their beliefs, but if some could get past the initial shock and actually press play, they’d find more quality music from Game.

Jesus Piece is Game’s last album with Interscope records, and although it’s touted as a concept album, it’s more accurate to say it’s a themed LP. There’s no running story to connect the thoughts (a la Kendrick’s good kid m.A.A.d city or The Roots’ undun), but there is a prevalent theme founded on the perception of church aspects through the eyes of the street. With that being said, there are several skits snuck throughout the play to illustrate this point, along with several songs that reinforce the same thing (and there’s not a more perfect example of this present than “Hallelujah” with Jamie Foxx and Jake One).

All of this wouldn’t matter if the album was bad, and it’s not by any stretch of the imagination. The feature-heavy LP – a double-edged sword at times –  has Game delivering the type of music his fans clamor for, but shifts gears at the appropriate time to stretch his content and show diversity. Even though “Scared Now” is one of the weaker album intros from Game we’ve heard, he gets the juice back with “Ali Bomaye” (a phrase which translates roughly into “Ali, Kill him!), trading bars with 2 Chainz and Rick Ross over production from Black Metaphor. After a hilarious skit, it continues into the Boi-1da/Maven Boys-produced “Jesus Piece”, in which Kanye and Common lend a quick hand to show a parallel between their lifestyles and the encrusted chain that’s inspired the album title.

STREAM: Game – “Jesus Piece” (feat.. Kanye West and Common)

The best parts of Jesus Piece, however, are when Game either takes a chance out of the blue, or when he turns aggressive when rhyming. A perfect example of the first is “Pray”, which features strong vocals from JMSN and a show-stealing verse from J. Cole, and “See No Evil” with Tank and Kendrick Lamar. In addition, there’s a legit flip of a classic D’Angelo song (“All That”) that features Lil’ Wayne, Big Sean, Jeremih, and Fabolous that deserves props. The second’s illustrated the best in “Heaven’s Arms” and “Freedom”, illustrating Game as he flips the switch and goes to work without the help of guest emcees.

STREAM: Game – “Pray” (feat. J. Cole and JMSN)

Even with the different aspects, Game manages to sneak in more substance and reflective lyrics in this album than he has in the past, and although some songs suffer due to the quality of the guest verse (King Chip’s verse in “Church”, for example), Jesus Piece is still a dope album. The production is solid, and each of the (many) cameos in this instance add to the replay value of the LP (and Game even acknowledges the fact he’s feature heavy in “Freedom”, a nice touch). Regardless of the controversy, when it all comes together, you get an album that’s well worth the purchase, whether in-store or online.

Rating: 8/10

  • Album Review: Game’s “Jesus Piece” - Celebrity News Info & Latest Updates | Celebrities News

    […] View Comments […]

  • Album Review | Game – “Jesus Piece” |

    […] Featured | […]

  • A tough but fair album review of the new Game album ‘Jesus Piece’ by @K1ngeljay « The Urban Link

    […] Album Review: Game's "Jesus Piece" ( […]

  • “['Jesus Piece'] Takes A Wrong Turn On ‘Hallelujah,’ Where Game Opens The Song Praising God W/ Profanity” » Cash Money Artists | Cash Money Artists

    […] rapper-turned-actor injects his latest solo offering with a multitude of different tones and vibes to help differentiate the 13-track LP […]

  • #NewMusicTuesday – December 11th « Tink Says Boo

    […] like it’s cool.  It makes you realize how classless our country is. Read a full review on All Hip Hop. Recommended Tracks: Pray feat. J.Cole & JMSN, All That (lady) feat. Lil Wayne & Big Sean, […]

  • Album Preview & Review: Game ‘Jesus Piece’ | #JesusPiece | Ms Dynasty

    […] Read More [AllHipHop] […]

  • Breeding Ground Spotlight: Compton Menace |

    […] Rap pioneers, such as MC Eiht and N.W.A., also call home.  Signed to fellow Compton-representer Game’s Black Wall Street Records, Menace has developed a buzz this year with his Menace II Society […]

  • Breeding Ground Spotlight: Compton Menace | Real Talk Urban Magazine

    […] Rap pioneers, such as MC Eiht and N.W.A., also call home.  Signed to fellow Compton-representer Game’s Black Wall Street Records, Menace has developed a buzz this year with his Menace II Society […]

  • Game Announces New “Operation Kill Everything” Mixtape Coming Soon |

    […] [ALSO READ: Album Review: Game’s “Jesus Piece”] […]

  • Game – “Jesus Piece” | Album Review | #TheREDEFINED

    […] Featured | | December 10th, 2012 […]

blog comments powered by Disqus