MC Lyte To Be Honored With BET's "I Am Hip Hop Award"

MC Lyte Joins Past “I Am Hip Hop” Honorees Nas, Salt-N-Pepa & Rakim

(AllHipHop News) Hip Hop veteran MC Lyte will join Nas, KRS-One, Russell Simmons, Ice Cube, Salt-N-Pepa, and Rakim as an honoree of the “I Am Hip Hop Award” at this year’s BET Hip Hop Awards.

[ALSO READ: Kendrick Lamar Earns 14 BET Hip Hop Awards Nominations]

MC Lyte is one of the most celebrated female emcees in rap history. The New York native released seven studio albums including 1998’s Lyte as a Rock and 1993’s Ain’t No Other featuring the gold-selling song “Ruffneck.”

Lyte is also the founder of the Hip Hop Sisters Foundation, president of Sunni Gyrl Inc., and she recently helped launch the iLEAD youth program in South Africa.

[ALSO READ: MC Lyte & Kenny Lattimore Team With The TMCF For South African Youth Initiative]

Watch the announcement of MC Lyte’s recognition as this year’s “I Am Hip Hop Award” recipient on 106 & Park in the video below.