Pharrell Williams Curated Soundtrack For “Dope” Features Tracks By Nas, Public Enemy, A Tribe Called Quest & More


(AllHipHop News) Pharrell Williams is serving as an executive producer for the upcoming film Dope. The Grammy winning artist has also taken on the task of curating the music for the movie’s soundtrack, and P went into the vaults to pull out some classic cuts from the 1990’s.

Tunes by Hip Hop legends Nas, Public Enemy, A Tribe Called Quest, and Naughty By Nature were all tapped for the album. Punk band Awreeoh makes four appearances. The late poet Gil Scott-Heron is featured on the soundtrack as well.

Dope tells the story of three nerdy South Los Angeles high schoolers obsessed with ‘90’s Hip Hop culture. The film stars Shameik Moore, Tony Revolori, and Kiersey Clemons. Celebrities A$AP Rocky, Zoë Kravitz, Chanel Iman, and Tyga also make appearances.

Rick Famuyiwa (The Wood, Brown Sugar) directed Dope. Along with Pharrell, the film was produced by Forest Whitaker and co-executive produced by Sean “Diddy” Combs. The Dope soundtrack is scheduled for release on June 16. The movie hits theaters June 19.

Check out the full tracklist for the Dope soundtrack and the movie trailer below. Pre-order the album here.

Dope Soundtrack

1.  Rebirth of Slick—Digable Planets
2.  Can’t Bring Me Down—Awreeoh
3.  The World Is Yours—Nas
4.  Go Head—Awreeoh
5.  Rebel Without A Pause—Public Enemy
6.  Don’t Get Deleted—Awreeoh
7.  Scenario—A Tribe Called Quest
8.  Cocaina Shawty—Kap G
9.  Poppin’ Off—Watch The Duck
10. The Humpty Dance—Digital Underground
11. New Money—Buddy
12. Hip Hop Hooray—Naughty By Nature
13. Dirty Feeling—LolaWolf
14. Home Is Where The Hatred Is—Gil Scott-Herron
15. It’s My Turn Now—Awreeoh