Drake Leads 2023 BET Award Nominations


Check out the full list of this year’s nominees.

Drake picked up seven BET Award nominations this year, the most of any artist. He made it into categories such as Best Male Hip Hop Artist, Album Of The Year (Her Loss) and Viewer’s Choice Award (“Jimmy Cooks”).

Drake’s Her Loss collaborator, 21 Savage, also scored an Album Of The Year nod for their joint project. The duo will compete for the Best Group trophy as well. Savage earned five overall nominations.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by BET Networks (@bet)

R&B/pop singer Lizzo racked up five BET Award nods, while GloRilla led the pack for most nominations for a female artist with six nods.

Two of GloRilla’s BET Award nominations include Best Female Hip Hop Artist and Best New Artist. Cardi B, Coi Leray, Ice Spice, Latto, Megan Thee Stallion and Nicki Minaj are also up for Best Female Hip Hop Artist.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by BET Networks (@bet)

The Best Male Hip Hop Artist category includes 21 Savage, Drake, Future, J. Cole, Jack Harlow, Kendrick Lamar and Lil Baby. The BET Awards will present Best Group to City Girls, Drake & 21 Savage, dvsn, FLO, Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin, Quavo & Takeoff or Wanmor.

Women dominated this year’s Best New Artist nominees at the BET Awards. GloRilla, Ambré, Coco Jones, Doechii, FLO, Ice Spice and Lola Brooke made it onto the list of potential winners in that category.

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Creed 3, Emancipation, Nope, The Woman King, Till and Whitney Houston: I Wanna Dance with Somebody vie for Best Movie. The 2023 BET Awards will air live on BET on Sunday (June 25) at 8 pm ET/PT.

Check out the full list of 2023 BET Award nominees below.

Album Of The Year

Anyways, Life’s Great – GloRilla

Breezy – Chris Brown

God Did – DJ Khaled

Her Loss – Drake & 21 Savage

Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers– Kendrick Lamar

“Renaissance” – Beyoncé

“SOS” – Sza

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist

Ari Lennox


Coco Jones





Best Male R&B/Pop Artist


Brent Faiyaz

Burna Boy

Chris Brown


The Weeknd


Best Group

City Girls

Drake & 21 Savage



Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

Quavo & Takeoff


Best Collaboration

“Big Energy (Remix)” – Latto & Mariah Carey feat. DJ Khaled

“Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2” – Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice

“Call Me Every Day” – Chris Brown feat. Wizkid

“Can’t Stop Won’t Stop”- King Combs feat. Kodak Black

“Creepin’” – Metro Boomin, The Weeknd & 21 Savage

“F.N.F. (Let’s Go)” – Hitkidd & GloRilla

“Tomorrow 2” – GloRilla & Cardi B

“Wait For U” – Future feat. Drake & Tems

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray


Ice Spice


Megan Thee Stallion

Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip Hop Artist

21 Savage



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Kendrick Lamar

Lil Baby

Video Of The Year

“We (Warm Embrace)” – Chris Brown

“2 Million Up” – Peezy, Jeezy & Real Boston Richey feat. Rob49

“About Damn Time” – Lizzo

“Bad Habit” – Steve Lacy

“First Class” – Jack Harlow

“Kill Bill” – Sza

“Tomorrow 2” – GloRilla & Cardi B

Video Director Of The Year

A$AP Rocky for Awge

Benny Boom

Burna Boy

Cole Bennett

Dave Free & Kendrick Lamar

Director X

Teyana “Spike Tey” Taylor

Best New Artist


Coco Jones




Ice Spice

Lola Brooke

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

“Bless Me” – Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

“Finished (Live)” – Tamela Mann

“I’ve Got Joy” – Cece Winans

“Kingdom” – Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin feat. Naomi Raine & Chandler Moore

“New” – Tye Tribbett

“One Moment From Glory” – Yolanda Adams

“The Better Benediction (Pt.2)” – PJ Morton feat. Lisa Knowles-Smith, Le’Andria Johnson, Keke Wyatt, Kierra Sheard & Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Viewer’s Choice Award

“About Damn Time” – Lizzo

“Break My Soul” – Beyoncé

“First Class” – Jack Harlow

“Jimmy Cooks” – Drake feat. 21 Savage

“Kill Bill” – Sza

“Last Last” – Burna Boy

“Super Freaky Girl” – Nicki Minaj

“Wait For U” – Future feat. Drake & Tems

Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Ayra Starr (Nigeria)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Central Cee (UK)

Ella Mai (UK)

K.O (South Africa)

L7nnon (Brazil)

Stormzy (UK)

Tiakola (France)

Uncle Waffles (Swaziland)

Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act

Asake (Nigeria)

Camidoh (Ghana)

Flo (UK)

Libianca (Cameroon)

Maureen (France)

MC Ryan SP (Brazil)

Pabi Cooper (South Africa)

Raye (UK)

Werenoi (France)


“About Damn Time” – Lizzo

“Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2” – Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice

“Break My Soul” – Beyoncé

“Her” – Megan Thee Stallion

“Lift Me Up” from “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” – Rihanna & Ludwig Göransson

“Players” – Coi Leray

“Special” – Lizzo

Best Movie

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

Creed 3



The Woman King


Whitney Houston: I Wanna Dance with Somebody

Best Actor

Amin Joseph

Brian Tyree Henry

Damson Idris

Daniel Kaluuya

Demetrius ‘Lil Meech’ Flenory Jr.

Donald Glover

Michael B. Jordan

Best Actress

Angela Bassett

Coco Jones

Janelle James

Janelle Monáe

Keke Palmer

Viola Davis


YoungStars Award

Akira Akbar

Alaya High

Demi Singleton

Genesis Denise

Marsai Martin

Thaddeus J. Mixson

Young Dylan

Sportswoman Of The Year Award

Alexis Morris

Allyson Felix

Angel Reese

Candace Parker

Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams

Sha’Carri Richardson

Sportsman Of The Year Award

Aaron Judge

Bubba Wallace

Gervonta Davis

Jalen Hurts

LeBron James

Patrick Mahomes

Stephen Curry